Places I Like: The Wood

Bamboo forest, somewhere in the world.

Maybe it is the way the random dispositions of the trees suggest paths to follow. Maybe it’s the uncertainty of not knowing how deep it is, or the excitement of finding out what’s on the other side.  Be it for one reason or another, forests are awesome.

When I go to a forest sometimes I carry a GPS device like my phone to know how to get out of it. Sometimes I don’t, because as I said, the trees suggest paths. When I don’t, I carry pen and paper and make my own map of the forest, using the “weird trees”, rocks or anything non-tree as reference points. It’s great. I did this while growing up on Uruguay with my two best friends. We made a map of a huge forest near to our houses and buried some “treasures” on it. I still keep the map and will go look for what we buried someday, mostly because I can’t remember what it was 🙂

Another great thing to do in a forest is explore and see what you find. You can do that everywhere, to be fair. A wood is just one more awesome place to explore: think of all the fascinating plants and animals! Also, a forest is a great place to hide things, so it’s possible that people have hidden things in there 😉

Above you can see the photo of a bamboo forest: you can’t deny the beauty of the scenery, specially in winter. Check out some of the forests I want to visit around the world:

Mysterious shoot of a forest in Alsace, France.

Can you imagine how many mysteries wait to be solved in this blurry woodland? Awesome!

Oak forest in Wisconsin, USA

What about this winter landscape? Has to be scary at night! I can imagine thousands of stories happening in that place.

Rainforest in Malaysia

So beautiful! I’ve always wanted to cross one of those little waterfalls. Rainforests are a great place to play and get inspired.

Hope you liked, thanks for reading! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Places I Like

One response to “Places I Like: The Wood

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Adventure Locations: The Wood « The Daily Adventurer -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

